Beargrass Scholars

From the Jan. 11, 2015 worship Bulletin at Beargrass Christian Church:

Greetings from Dr. Charisse L. Gillett, President of Lexington Theological Seminary

I want to take this opportunity to express my deep gratitude for the members— past, present and future—of Beargrass Christian Church. And I especially want to note how thankful I am for the Beargrass Scholars program.

For some 50 years, you all have helped men and women say, “Yes!” to a call to ministry. Because of you, over 70 pastors have been prepared for ministry at Lexington Theological Seminary. Their ministries have taken on various forms and impacted countless lives. “Thank you,” doesn’t seem quite enough…and yet, thank you. For all that you have offered to the wider church, even to the world, with your generosity and commitment to the Seminary, we stand in gratitude.

It is in this spirit of gratitude that Beargrass Christian Church was awarded the Congregational Partner Award at the May 2014 commencement ceremony. The award was accepted by Beargrass member and LTS trustee, Mrs. Leslie Geoghegan and Beargrass Minister of Faith Development Rev. Dr. John Hull. We are deeply grateful for their leadership and for that of Rev. Dr. Leigh Bond.

This year the Seminary celebrates its sesquicentennial; and, it only seems appropriate that as we officially begin our 150th celebration, we do so at a place that has made such significant contributions to us all through your support.

Beargrass Scholars Directory (PDF download)