LTS Celebrates Class of 2015

Lexington Theological Seminary celebrates the achievements of the class of 2015. President Charisse L. Gillett conferred graduate certificates and degrees upon 14 students at the Seminary’s 149th Commencement and offers them heartfelt congratulations for their work.

“It has been our privilege to walk with you this far,” Gillett said.

Christine Bandy-Helderman, Jupiter, Florida
Syvoskia Bray Pope, Louisville, Kentucky
Tina Christian, Lake Worth, Florida
James Cullen, Deep Run, North Carolina
Keslinn Kohfeld-Stout, Bakersfield, California
Pamela Pettyjohn, Louisville, Kentucky
Ronald Thompson, Naples, Florida

Trudy Betts, West Palm Beach, Florida
William Brown, Troy, Missouri
Cheri Metier, San Diego, California
Joseph Pusateri, Simpsonville, Kentucky
Barbara Schaars, Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Katie Sexton, Glendale, Arizona
Mark Underwood, Harvest, Alabama

The President’s Award for 2015 was presented to the Rev. Dr. Sharon E. Watkins, General Minister and President of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). Watkins was the keynote speaker at today’s commencement and told the graduates that they are “called to go” and reminded them that they are the voice of hope and change in a world darkened with desperation.

The Congregational Service Award for 2015 was presented to Cherokee Christian Church, Prairie View, KS, and Edenside Christian Church, Louisville, KY. The Rev. Trish Thompson Winters, former interim pastor of Cherokee Christian Church, accepted the award on behalf of the Cherokee Christian congregation. Ms. Louise Coomer, former moderator of Edenside Christian Church, accepted the award on behalf of the Edenside Christian congregation.