Students awarded independent scholarships

Lexington, Ky., Sept. 16, 2011 – Thanks to the generosity of churches and individuals from regions across the U.S., several Lexington Theological Seminary students received independent scholarships to assist with expenses related to their studies for the 2011-12 academic year.

  • Vernie Bolden of Roanoke, Va., and Amanda Sorenson of Lexington, Ky., received scholarships from Washburn Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Washburn, Ill., led by the Rev. Patricia Jones, an alumna of the Seminary.
  • Sean Kennedy of Richmond, Va., and LaVeeshia Pryor, also of Richmond, Va., received the Paul and Norman Hobbs book scholarship.
  • Laurie Metzko of Mantua, Ohio; Sheila Spencer of Indianapolis, Ind.; and Katie Sexton of Phoenix, Ariz. each received a Disciples Home Mission scholarship.
  • Sean Kennedy of Richmond, Va., and Norman Cunningham of Sparta, Tenn., received the Stevens Scholarship from Bethany Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Fort Washington, Md.

Lexington Theological Seminary is an accredited graduate theological institution of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).  Consistent with the Disciples’ historic commitment to Christian unity, the Seminary is intentionally ecumenical with students, faculty, staff and trustees of various denominations. The Seminary has been preparing leaders for the church since 1865.
For more information, visit