Lexington Theological Seminary’s 145th Commencement

Lexington, Ky., May 13, 2011 – Twenty Lexington Theological Seminary students from seven states received degrees and one certificate at the 145th graduation ceremony Friday.

Maribeth Blackman Westerfield, Martinsville, Ind., received a Doctor of Ministry degree.

Receiving Master of Divinity degrees are: Sheila Anne Core, Dobson, NC; Chris Geiger, Ashland, Ky.; Timothy Richard Graves, Wheeling, W.Va.; Jason Grow, Rippey, Iowa; Kenneth Michael Hardway, Logan, W.Va.; Johnna B. Mansuetto, Perryville, Ky.; Nathl LaManuel Moore, Huntsville, Ala.; Chad M. Penhorwood, Lima, Ohio; Kimberley Tennille Proctor, Bowling Green, Ky.; Margaret R. Shanks, Lexington, Ky.; Betty Sivis, Lexington, Ky.; Kara Renae Swartz, West Chester, Ohio; Lisa Anne Tolliver, Lexington, Ky.; and Kenneth W. Weidinger, Fort Thomas, Ky.

Four students received Master of Arts degrees: Haley Suzanne McCoy, McKee, Ky.; Howard Fee Miller, Richmond, Ky.; Susan G. Shepherd, Lexington, Ky.; and Avis Lynette Prude Thompson, Beattyville, Ky.

Kevin Joseph Roberts, Lawrenceburg, Ky., received a Certificate in Pastoral Ministry in abstentia.

Keynote speaker Rev. Jean Halligan Vandergrift is a 1983 graduate of Lexington Theological Seminary. She is a Ph.D. candidate in Practical Theology at the Boston University School of Theology, with a concentration in Congregations and Community. She is also an ordained minister in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). Jean has served pastorates in Kentucky, North Carolina, and Washington, as well as a mission appointment in Paris, France.

She has given leadership to mission and ministry at the local, regional, and general expressions of the church, currently as co-chair of the Discernment Team of the Northeastern region, the in-coming chair of the Disciples Home Missions Board, and a member of the Congregational Transformation Team.


Lexington Theological Seminary is an accredited graduate theological institution of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).  Consistent with the Disciples’ historic commitment to Christian unity, the Seminary is intentionally ecumenical with students, faculty, staff and trustees of various denominations. The Seminary has been preparing leaders for the church since 1865. For more information, visit www.lextheo.edu.