2.0 Organizational Information

2.1  Board of Trustees:  The affairs of the Seminary are managed and conducted by the Board of Trustees. Each Trustee is elected for a term of four years. Board members are persons who have demonstrated interest in, concern for, and support of the mission and vision of the Seminary.

2.2  Administrative Officers:

2.2.1 President: The President has designated authority from the Board of Trustees and as such has delegated responsibility for the operation of the Seminary. The President acts as administrative head of the entire educational and business affairs of the Seminary.

2.2.2 Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean: The Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean is the Seminary’s chief academic officer. The Dean is responsible for both curriculum and student services including admissions.

2.2.3 Chief Financial Officer: The Chief Financial Officer is responsible for the business affairs of the Seminary, including all books and accounts and audits. The Office of the CFO oversees student financial aid applications and payments, and billing and payments of student tuition, fees and miscellaneous items.

2.2.4 Vice President for Advancement: The Vice President for Advancement is responsible for overseeing fund raising, public and church relations, alumni affairs, and event management.

2.3  Administrative Staff

2.3.1  Director of Development: The Director of Development oversees the annual alumni Phonathon and works with the Vice President for Advancement in church relations, alumni affairs, and the annual fund.

2.3.2  Director of Continuing Education & Director of Doctor of Ministry: The Director of Continuing Education oversees continuing education for both lay and clergy. This includes workshops, Lay School of Theology (LST), as well as the D. Min. degree program.

2.3.3  Registrar: The Registrar is responsible for registering students in curriculum, course and information programs, keeping academic and personal information records, corresponding with applicants and evaluating their credentials.

2.3.4  Director of Admissions: The Director of Admissions serves as liaison for the process of application and admission to the Seminary.

2.3.5  Director of the Library : The Director of Library is responsible for the Bosworth Memorial Library collection. and for planning and implementation of the Seminary’s technology resources plans. The Director updates and maintains policies governing the library collection.

2.3.6  Director of Information Technology: The Director of Information Technology is responsible for the technology on campus, LTS Online “Edvance 360 – LMS”, and  the seminary’s website.  The IT Director supports the technology needs of the students, faculty and staff of the seminary.

2.4  Faculty:  The faculty consists of regularly appointed positions augmented by a number of adjunct professors. They are scholars in their fields, performing research that annually leads to publishing of books and articles. The faculty is ecumenical in its faith traditions and is dedicated to teaching, accessibility to students, and church involvements. Many of the faculty are ordained ministers and often preach and teach in churches. Faculty design and deliver teaching which ensures appropriate learning objectives consistent with the Seminary’s mission and academic standards, and serve as academic advisors.

2.5  Library Facilities:  The Bosworth Memorial Library has more than 160,000 volumes and regularly receives over 200 periodicals. Additional volumes are available through interlibrary loan. Research information is also available through library access to extensive electronic databases for religion, sociology, philosophy, psychology, education, and related disciplines.

2.6  Standing Committees:  Several standing committees meet to administer and manage cultural and academic affairs of the Seminary. Names and contact information for committee chairs may be obtained from the office of the Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean. Students serve on several of these committees (see below).

2.6.1  Committee on Masters Degrees:  This committee coordinates matters relating to all masters degree programs. It advises the Office of the Dean concerning student requests as well as all policies and procedures relating to the masters programs, including admissions. One or two student representatives are selected to serve on this committee during each academic year.

2.6.2  Doctor of Ministry Committee:  This committee coordinates general matters relating to the Doctor of Ministry program including review and recommendations on matters of policy and procedures. Along with faculty a D.Min. student also serves on this committee.

2.6.3  Assessment Committee:  This committee oversees the assessment of the academic work done by the various LTS programs (such as M.Div., M.T.S., M.P.S., D.Min.) and areas of studies (such as Interpreting Scripture, Interpreting Faith, Worship, etc.). Usually, one area of study is assessed yearly by faculty and reports are presented to the Assessment Committee.

2.6.4  Appeals/Grievance Committee:  This committee is appointed by the Dean to investigate and decide upon all grievance matters, both academic and non-academic. The members include two students, two faculty members, and two staff members.

2.6.5  Plagiarism Review Board: LTS makes use of a Plagiarism Review Board (PRB) to review plagiarism violations and to determine penalties for these violations.  When a case of plagiarism arises, a committee is formed. The committee will consist of two faculty, one or two students (at least one from the pertinent degree program), and the Dean (ex officio and the convener).

2.7  Organizational Relationships:

2.7.1  An Ecumenical Tradition: Lexington Theological Seminary is an ecumenical seminary of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), enjoying official connections with eleven regions. Consistent with the Disciples’ historic commitment to Christian unity, the Seminary is intentionally ecumenical with almost thirty percent of its enrollment coming from other denominations. The faculty, staff, and trustees are likewise ecumenical, having members from various traditions.

2.7.2  Accreditation:  Lexington Theological Seminary is accredited by and a charter member of the Association of Theological Schools, the official accrediting agency for theological institutions in the United States and Canada (10 Summit Park Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15275; 412/788-6505). The accreditation is for the Master of Divinity, Master of Theological Studies, Master in Pastoral Studies, and Doctor of Ministry degrees.

2.7.3  Academic Partnerships and Agreements:  The Seminary enjoys multiple course and degree program partnerships with other institutions. (See Section 6.0, Relationships with Other Institutions, for details on each program and registration procedures.)

  • Courses at partner campuses are available through the Theological Education Association of Mid-America (TEAM-A).
  • Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington, D.C. offers a “semester in Washington” program in which Seminary students may participate for transfer credit.
  • The Hispanic Summer Program offers an opportunity to study in a Hispanic setting, with Latina/o peers and professors.
  • The Appalachian Ministries Educational Resource Center (AMERC) is offered for students interested in Appalachian ministry.
  • Roman Catholic Church: The Seminary offers a Master of Arts program geared to the needs of Catholic students and planned in consultation with the Office of Catholic Education of the Catholic Diocese of Lexington.
  • Presbyterian Church (U.S.A):  The Seminary has a strong working relationship with the Committee on the Preparation for Ministry of the Transylvania Presbytery. Courses on Presbyterian theology, worship, and policy are offered on a regular basis.